Saturday, December 19, 2009


There are four types of yoga consisting of jnAna yoga, dhyAna yoga, bhakti yoga and karma yoga.
jnAna yoga is achieved through the knowledge of discrimination between Atma and AnAtma .

dhyAna yoga comprises of eight limbs ending with samAdhi.

Unconditional devotion towards the Supreme is bhakti yoga.

karma yoga refers to yoga through action. Though karma is said to be the cause for bondage, when performed without attachment in a selfless manner , it transforms into yoga. The term "yoga" represents union with the cosmic consciousness.

karma yoga has three essential characteristics in terms of desirelessness, proficiency and faith.
nishkAmatva (desirelessness) represents non-attachment towards the fruit of action.
kauSala represents skill in action.
Astikya buddhi refers to utmost faith in the Supreme .

The karma yogi has nothing to fear as he is engaged in selfless action without any ego. The world is characterized by karma. It is made of the triguNas of satva, rajas and tamas. It is a mixture of good and bad resulting in pleasure or pain. Doing good to the world destroys selfishness. Freedom from action is attained through action. Selfish desires are to be given up.

One should perform action based on his svadharma. Prescribed duties must be performed in a selfless manner. All ordained duties are equal. One who sees action in inaction and inaction in action is the Seer. Action may be done with the desire for liberation or for pleasing the Supreme or as service to the people.

The karma yogi maintains perfect peace and tranquility though he is moving in the midst of sense objects. He works like a great master. He is independent. He serves the Society tirelessly impelled by ultimate compassion. He achieves excellence through the path of karma yoga.